Associate Professor Deb Ryan Elected Planning Commission Chair

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Associate Professor of Architecture and Urban Design Deb Ryan has been elected chair of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning Commission, effective July 1, 2017. Formed in 1954, the Planning Commission’s role is to advise the Mayor, Charlotte City Council, and the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners on all matters related to urban design, long range planning, and rezoning. 

In her near 30-year career, Ryan has worked with elected leaders from more than 25 municipalities to help formulate strategies to guide growth in their communities. In Charlotte, she has worked on master plans for Second Ward and Third Ward and has served as the chair of the Charlotte Mecklenburg Public Art Commission, a member of the Arts & Science Council board, and a member of the University City Partners Board of Directors.

The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning Commission is composed of 14 members: five appointed by Charlotte City Council, two by the Mayor, and seven by the Board of County Commissioners. The Planning Commission conducts business primarily within two committees, a planning committee and a zoning committee. Ryan has served on the Planning Commission for the past six years.

“We congratulate Deb on this wonderful accomplishment,” said School of Architecture Director Chris Jarrett. “While this is a continuation of her civic engagement work with local government, serving as Chair of the Commission provides Deb with a leadership opportunity to effect positive change in the quality of our built environment.”