Student Organizations

Students in the College of Arts + Architecture have numerous opportunities to join discipline-specific student organizations that enrich their experiences at UNC Charlotte. In addition, the College supports an interdisciplinary student organization dedicated to connecting the disciplines within the College and realizing the potential of their integration.


American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS)
Faculty Advisor: David Thaddeus
2023-24 President: Megan Angel

Freedom by Design
Faculty Advisor: Marc Manack
2023-24 President: Landon Byrd

National Organization of Minority Architecture Students (NOMAS)
Faculty Advisor: Kelly Carlson-Reddig
2023-24 President: Nakyra Sykes

Master of Architecture Student Society (MASS)
Faculty Advisor: Mona Azarbayjani
2023-24 President: Jessie Cart

USGBC, UNC Charlotte Chapter
Faculty Advisor: Kyoung-Hee Kim
2023-24 President: Nejla Harris

Learn more about these student organizations →

ART & Art History

Women in Animation
Faculty Advisor: Heather Freeman
2023-24 Presidents: Tailin Postema and Danielle Arias

Art of Light Photo Club
Faculty Advisors: Aspen Hochhalter and Ann Kluttz
2023-24 President: Alyssa Smart

United Creative Vision
Faculty Advisor: Lydia Thompson
2022-23 President: Annalysa Fakir

Society of Art Historians
Faculty Advisor: Jim Frakes
2023-24 President: Sam Fine

National Art Education Association Student Chapter
Faculty Advisors: Jane Dalton and David Gall
2023-24: not active

Niner Designers
Faculty Advisor: Cynthia Frank
2023-24 President: Franchesca Gatti

Cerama (Ceramics Club)
Faculty Advisor: Shelly Ellis
2023-24 President: Lily Kuntz

Illustration Club
Faculty Advisor: Jessica Burke
2023-24 President: Lysa Fakir

Learn more about these student organizations →


Range of Motion Dance Ensemble
Faculty Advisor: Ashley Tate
2023-24 President: Sydney Lin

MOVE Dance Alliance
Faculty Advisor: Marissa Nesbit
2023-24 President: Aliyah Brewington

Learn more about these student organizations →


Collegiate Chapter of the National Association for Music Education
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Fred Spano
2023-24 Presidents: Corrine Collison and Adam Kallestad

Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jeremy Marks
2023-24 President: Keven Ramirez Guevara

Sigma Alpha Iota
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sequina DuBose
2023-24 President: Alyssa Prior

UNC Charlotte Choirs
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jason Dungee
2023-24: not active

Collegiate Chapter of the American Choral Directors Association
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jason Dungee
2023-24: not active

Brass Guild
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Eric Millard
2023-24 President: Patrick Nguyen

Learn more about these student organizations →


Student Theatre At Robinson (STAR)
Faculty Advisor: Laura Waringer
2023-24 President: Chandler Pelliciotta

Queen City Circus Troupe
Faculty Advisor: Carlos Cruz
2023-24 Presidents: Deity Brinson and Chandler Pelliciotta

Learn more about these student organizations →