Jayrion Wilson

headshot of Jayrion smiling
Hometown: Charlotte, NC
BA in Architecture

How did you first get interested in design?
I am a sibling to 3, and am a strong momma's baby. I am a huge part of the Arianators, and I love Italian and Mexican cuisine. I grew up in Charlotte, NC, and began my interest in design around the age of 7, when I started to understand the design of buildings I entered daily. Growing up in the vastly changing city of Charlotte, I got to see streets, buildings, and homes go from one thing to another in the matter of a couple of years, and the huge population the area has grown to be.

What kind of career do you hope to have?
Speaking it into existence, I am soon going to be an Architect, and head back to college for grad school to earn my Masters of Architecture, hopefully leading to my own firm. 

What is your favorite thing about UNC Charlotte?
My favorite thing about UNC Charlotte is the extreme levels of diversity and inclusion. Coming to a predominately-white-institution, I was afraid of fitting into the large campus and community, but as I've spent time here, I've realized that UNC Charlotte is for everyone, no matter the race, sex, or background. I love our college, and my department (Architecture) specifically, because they understand that we are humans first and students second, they understand that everyone is different and they work hard to include everyone in events and socials that take place. CoA+A works overtime to make sure all departments and students have a place at Charlotte and in the college, and I love that! CoA+A is a vastly diverse population that spotlights the talents of all students, whether it be design, art, dance, acting, or music.

Do you participate in any community activities or work in the Charlotte arts community? 
I participate with the UNC Charlotte Black Student Union, attending events and meetings for the general body. 

Can you talk about your experience as a scholarship student?
I am a part of the Road to Hire Scholarship Program, where we participate in social events gaining knowledge about financial stability, credit, professionalism, interview prep, and academic support for college.

When you are not in class, studying, or working, what do you like to do for fun?
I am constantly hanging out with friends, supporting my friends at different events and school socials, listening to music (R&B, Pop, and Rap), and love to relax in my bed at home.